top of page
Search
Writer's picturelhm

Rental kitchen updates (Military Edition)

I enjoy a good challenge! So when the military sends our family to a new place, I look forward to turning the house that we get into a home! I really do believe that anyone can make a temporary house feel like a home.




Half the fun is really not knowing what kind of house we will get. Don't get me wrong, at the beginning of our military life journey I would stress over what type of house we would get and what it would look like. I no longer get that anxiety.


I have realized that most of the time we don't have much of an option and I have come to terms with that. I choose not to stress over it anymore. Instead, I look at it as a challenge! You know, the type of home decor challenges you see on tv where a design team has a week to completely renovate a home! Except that my challenges has a few more hurdles... there's no tearing down walls, no painting, or doing any structural changes to the home. These challenges surely make you think out of the box!


In every home, the first room that must be completed is our kitchen! It is the room where I will cook a home cooked meal after living out of suitcases in hotel rooms. The first home cooked meal makes it feel official for me. It is also the room where we can start sitting down together to share a meal as a family again.




When we arrived to our recent home, I tackled our kitchen first. I organized our limited pantry and tried to find the best flow for the kitchen, even though it takes us about 6 moths to really remember where we've placed everything.





So, this was the space I had to work with. I was happy that the cabinets were white and I do like flooring. The wall color is not my preference but what can I do? I have to work with what I have. I do appreciate the large glass sliding door in the kitchen/dining room area. We get plenty of light in.



I have been eyeing these barstool chairs for quite some time and finally took the leap and purchased them. I knew that I wanted to add removable wallpaper somewhere in the kitchen and I am happy with the way this temporary addition changed the room.


The removable wallpaper really changed the look of the room!! What an easy and inexpensive update that can be used in any rental home! Be sure to purchase a thick removable wallpaper for durability!

The removable wallpaper I used can be found here: https://amzn.to/37BbyS0








1,323 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page